In 1999, the Conservation Districts, Extension Services and several other organizations with an interest in water quality formed the Northern Kentucky Agriculture Water Quality Committee to assist landowners in complying with livestock issues in the Kentucky Agricultural Water Quality Act. A "Horse Muck" committee was started to bring a focus on waste management in the equine industry, which was not adequately addressed in the original plan.

In 2002, that committee began creating educational programs, on-farm demonstrations, field days and a grant fund distribution system. The committee saw many additional horse owners' needs they wanted to address. So, on May 3, 2006 a group of equine leaders from Boone, Kenton and Campbell counties and representatives from the three Extension Services and Conservation Districts met to discuss equine industry needs. The Northern Kentucky Horse Network grew from that meeting. A half-dozen horse owners met regularly to create mission and vision statements, draft bylaws and brainstorm the needs and projects for the region's horses and horse owner’s. The Network met with representatives from the Kentucky Horse Council and the Kentucky Equine Education Project and obtained a start-up grant from KEEP. Three members from Boone, Kenton and Campbell counties were selected to serve as the first year's Board of Directors. Officers were elected from that group in December. The Network has expanded to include Pendleton, Grant, Owen, Carroll, Gallatin and Bracken counties.

 

By-Laws

Articles of Amendment

 

Sunday Jan 30
Annual Dinner
Sunday Jan 30
Annual Meeting/Boone County Enrichment Ctr.
Sunday Jan 30
Board Meeting (following annual meeting)
Sunday Feb 13
Pop Corn/Movie Night
Friday Feb 18
NKHN Leadership Retreat/Kenton Lands
Saturday Mar 26
Horse Health Day
Saturday Apr 23
Liberty Clinic with Dan James
Saturday Apr 30
Annual Trail Ride
Saturday Apr 30
Annual Trail Ride
Saturday May 07
Western Dressage & Dressage Schooling Show
Saturday May 21
Drill Show
Saturday May 21
Drill Show
Wednesday Jun 01
Family Cookout/Trail Ride
Saturday Jul 23
All Breed Horse Show
Saturday Sep 17
Hamburger Trail Ride
Saturday Sep 17
Hamburger Trail Ride
Saturday Oct 01
Enrichment Day/Equine Conference
Saturday Oct 01
Ranch Horse Clinic #2 (Cattle Sorting)